Thread: Floor Tom troubles

User Info Menu

Default Floor Tom troubles

Hey,
    I am new to DrumChat but from what I have seen it's just what I have been looking for. I have been playing drums for about 26 years. I am a rare breed of woman drummer. I traveled with a Southern Gospel group for several years and really should write a book about being a woman drummer going into small churches in the south but that's a story for another time. I also played at my church. I own an older set of CB700's (which I love) with Zilgean cymbals. At church I played an older set of Pearls, probably mid 70's models with Z cymbals. For the past year I have had the privilidge to help start a new church. In the excitement of starting the new church someone donated the money for the drum set and someone "thought" they got a great deal at the local music store. At the time, I was tied up with my dad in the hospital and wasn't in on the deal until time to show up for practice. I was not happy but tried to make the best because we were short on funds and trying to make do. I think the name is Percussion something, (senior moment). They have extremenly cheap heads, the worst sounding high hat I have ever heard, cheap Paiste cymbals. I added my high hat and cymbals so I could live with them. All that being said, believe it or not the cymbals have grown on me and I never thought I'd like Paiste, I'm sort of a Z purist. I have worked with the toms till they are much better now than they were. Sometimes I am happy with the snare, sometimes not.