Thread: Aquarian Cymbal Spring

User Info Menu

Default Aquarian Cymbal Spring

Aquarian Cymbal Spring... I thinking of purchasing the Aquarian Cymbal Spring for my china. is it good or is it a fail?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Aquarian Cymbal Spring

I've been using one on my china for 7 years. I love it. Will buy again.

User Info Menu

I used to use them on my e-cymbals........never used them on acoustic cymbals. The only thing I didn't like was the way they mounted. Seems like there could be a better way

User Info Menu

I have one, but I took it off my china because I didnt like the way it flopped, but I use it on my stack and it works great!

User Info Menu

I use one for my china... works great...it's the yellow one... the more rigid one out of the two...

Here is a post from a while ago from PerryGoRound about mounting it...

http://www.drumchat.com/showpost.php...1&postcount=24

I did something similar by using a coupling nut (google it). Got one that fit my cymbal stand thread, then got another bolt to screw in to the coupler and then mounted the cymbal spring on that. Was able to really crank down on it and didn't care if the threads got damaged.
    Gretsch Renown RN1 ~ Silver Oyster Pearl

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by TonyFreeDrum View Post
    Aquarian Cymbal Spring... I thinking of purchasing the Aquarian Cymbal Spring for my china. is it good or is it a fail?
    The springs are great for chinas but as LG said, the mounting of the springs on existing threads of a cymbal tilter can be a little dicey if you don't modify the tilter. I would use a threaded collared sleeve to protect the threads. Here's where the problem lies in my opinion. The Aquarian Springs can be used on practically any stand but the attachment point is generally over the threads on the cymbal tilter.