Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Learning drum covers

User Info Menu

Default Learning drum covers

Okay, I'm a beginner and I need to know an effective way to learn drum covers, as of now I download cover videos off of youtube and I basically just try to rip them off (for example right now I'm trying to learn Blackbird by Alter Bridge), now I need to know if that's alright or am I digging a hole for myself by doing what I'm doing.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Learning drum covers

I never had Youtube when I started out, I basically listened to records through headphones and replicated what the drummer was doing... I still do, in fact.

User Info Menu

Follow your instincts. Just play along and absorb. You will go nowhere but up.

User Info Menu

By the way, I noticed you're new. Welcome to our family!

User Info Menu

Welcome aboard! Covering a tune is a great way to learn dynamics. I'm old. Youtube didn't exist when I started drumming either. Watching a drummer perform in my opinion, can only help to some degree. If you can afford lessons, seek out a qualified teacher who may help guide you away from bad habits which you may or may not be aware of. There are many who learned on their own without any instruction. I did both. Formal lessons taught me to site read which I still struggle at but using what my teachers have taught me has broken a string of bad habits I unknownly picked up along the way. Good luck and feel free to ask more questions....there no such thing as a stupid question here on Drumchat.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Hellwyck View Post
    I never had Youtube when I started out, I basically listened to records through headphones and replicated what the drummer was doing... I still do, in fact.
    This.
    Signature here

User Info Menu