Thread: Speed and Metronome

User Info Menu

Default Speed and Metronome

Hello everyone. Quick question for you. I am currently working out of the New Breed book. My teacher has assigned me a couple of pages and has asked that I read the snare line as the bass drum line and to practice at 63 bpm (I'm still a beginner-ish). I tried working through the pages last night with the metronome and it feels too fast. So, do I struggle through (I have two weeks to work on this) or do I slow the metronome down to a comfortable speed and slowly increase it, hoping I have it up to speed by my next lesson? I know 63 bpm seems ridiculously slow to most of you, but to me, those particular pages have a whole lotta notes going on for my little foot!

Thanks!
    Dany

User Info Menu

Default Re: Speed and Metronome

I would slow down the tempo to a comfortable pace...when you've gotten good at that tempo, slowly bump it up and keep repeating the process until you are at the level your teacher expects.

Be patient.
    "The problem with information on the Internet is that you can not validate it's authenticity. " -Abraham Lincoln

SILVERFOX DRUMSTICKS & SOULTONE CYMBALS Endorsing Artist.

User Info Menu

Ditto what EddieV says
    Enjoy the Music!

HOOKED ON VINTAGE ROGERS

12 tom times 3
    13 tom times 3
    16 floor tom 3
    22 BD times 2
    24 BD 1
    Dyna-sonic snare 1976
    Dyna-sonic snare 1969
    Powertone snare 1969
    24 x 12 Djembe

21" K Hybrid custom ride
    21" Avedis ride
    20" Zildjian 1970 ride
    18" A Custom Zildjian fast crash
    17" A Custom Zildjian med crash
    15" A Custom Zildjian Reso hats
    10" A Custom fast splash
    18" A Custom China
    LP Cowbell baby..always more cowbell

Member of "PHROGGES AQUARIAN ARMY"
    The Zildjian League

Drum Chat's Record for Most Users Online
    BE COUNTED!

User Info Menu