Thread: Lesson Quandry

User Info Menu

Default Lesson Quandry

Hi all,

I’m new to DrumChat. I have an interesting situation I could use some advice on. First a little background.

I’m 49 and have been drumming since I was 12. I took lessons through my teen years into my late 20’s and while I learned a lot, I never was a standout. I’ve played professionally and absolutely love playing. I love listening to and watching technical drummers like Neil Peart and while I can fake my way through some RUSH tunes I’m never going to be Neil. I enjoy the meat and potatoes style of drummers like Ringo Starr, Herman Rarebell and Joey Kramer.

Here is the problem.

I now live in New Orleans and love the local music and drumming style, though I don’t want everything I play to be second line influenced. For my birthday my wife gave me an introductory drum lesson with drum legend Johnny Vidacovich. I have no clue how to even go into this lesson. I can play but I feel that I’m going in as a beginning 12 year old all over again. I know I can gain something from this great man but how do I even start?

Any advice/suggestions?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Lesson Quandry

Welcome to Drum Chat Johnny Blond!

Remember how you felt when you had your lessons in your teen years. You were open to learning what the teacher could offer to you. This is exactly how you need to approach the lesson with Johnny Vidacovich. Just be open to what he will offer you as the student.

Just my 2 cents.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by pastor_bob View Post