Thread: How long should it take to learn a full song cover

User Info Menu

Default How long should it take to learn a full song cover

I'm a beginner and it took me about 3 weeks, around 12 hours a week, of practicing Enter Sandman before I could play the whole song. That's about 36 hours of practice to play a super easy song. Am I going nowhere or is it normal to take this long? I feel like I'm just bad at drums.

User Info Menu

Default Re: How long should it take to learn a full song cover

It takes what it takes.

User Info Menu

Some things come to me quicker than other things. I am hoping with more practice and being a better drummer they get easier!

User Info Menu

Take heart!

I may not have a ton of drumming experience, but I can certainly draw on my background in instrumental music in general. Some tunes will be harder and some easier, but the overall trend will be that it gets easier as you go. Figure it this way, the patterns you learned will apply themselves in other songs, they get hard-wired in your brain, and the more you pick up, the larger, more varied and more robust your "tool kit" becomes.

Plus, just going through the routine of the practice of learning will become easier as you go. You'll find yourself picking up more things faster.

User Info Menu

Metal, I think you and Lars spent the same amount of time learning that song!
    SONOR 6 pc Special Edition 3007's red maple, old Pearl Brass 14x6 FF snare, Yamaha Tour Custom maple 8 pc., Tama 4 pc., honey amber B/B, Ludwig Supralite chrome 14x6.5 steel snare, Paiste, Saluda & Zildjian
    Loaned out Slingerland upgraded 4 pc 1963 black, wrapped maple + 14" Pearl birch FT
    The Almighty Speed King pedal, Speed Cobra, Sonor Single

http://www.screaminmelinas.com
    http://www.facebook.com/DerailedRockers/

User Info Menu