Thread: Cajon Lessons for Beginners?

User Info Menu

Default Cajon Lessons for Beginners?

Im completely new to cajons and drumming in general. I just bought an LP Aspire Accent Cajon but i dont really know how to play it. Do you know of any online help videos or drum lessons books that could help me learn the basics like posture and proper technique. I don't want to develop any bad habits. Most of the help videos and even the book I bought don't really explain anything. They basically just start playing and expect me to follow along. Not Helpful. Suggestions?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Cajon Lessons for Beginners?

Well, I know it's not exactly what you're looking for, but if you can watch performances on youtube you may get some ideas to start with. Really a lot of it can depend on the style of music you plan on playing, as a cajon is very versatile and you may need more playing techniques for different musical styles. So I'd say look up some videos of professional players, and that may at least get you started...

User Info Menu

Violet, try looking up Jen Lowe on YouTube. Here is a link to one of her vids:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rm11EyoOP4g

User Info Menu

You may like Heidi Joubert on YouTube

User Info Menu

Cool Re: Cajon Lessons for Beginners?

If you've ever played a djembe, that's pretty much the way a cajon can be played, too. Have you talked with anyone at the store where you purchased your cajon? Chances are someone may know or, even better, direct you to someone who plays them him- or herself...

Welcome aboard!
    keep the beat goin' ... Don't keep it to yourself!

Charlie

"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away." --Henry David Thoreau, "Walden," 1854

"There's a lot to be said for Time Honored tradition and value." --In memory of Frank "fiacovaz" Iacovazzi