Thread: 3 Minute Solo!!!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

User Info Menu

Default 3 Minute Solo!!!

I'm not sure how other drummers are with helping a fellow drummer out, but here goes:

I am a contestant in a National drum off competition. I have 3 minutes to solo and I'm looking for any suggestions, tips, tricks, ideas, anything to enhance my creativity.

I've been playing for 28 years to include drum corp marching for 3 years, drum set for the other 25. I'm influenced heavily by Dream Theater, Kansas, RUSH, and Avenged Sevenfold.

Ok, that's me, anything from you? Thanks much!

User Info Menu

Default Re: 3 Minute Solo!!!

drumgod ,, i would think that after 25 years of playing ,there isnt much that anyone could
    tell you to enhance your creativity. sounds to me that you have 3 min to show all your tricks
    Tamaholic

User Info Menu

Well, I assume you're talking about Guitar Center's Drum Off, in which a lot of the members are probably competing.

But from experience in that competition, I can tell you that originality goes a long way. And really grooving. Go watch videos of GC Drum Off winners on YouTube.
    Mapex Meridian Maple
    12"x9", 14"x14", 16"x16", 22"x18"

Addiction Drum Design custom 14"x7" segment snare
    Ludwig Epic 14"x7" "Brick" snare with custom paint
    DW Collector's Series 14"x6.5" Black Nickel Over Brass snare

Zildjian A Custom
    14" Mastersound HiHats
    16" Projection Crash
    18" Projection Crash
    21" Rezo Ride

Evans Drum Heads

Meinl Cajon
    Meinl Large Studio Shaker
    LP Egg Shaker
    LP Cyclops Tambourine

User Info Menu

If you haven't already check out JP Bouvet's tips for contestants and a breakdown of his drum off winning solo.

Tips: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h2hNTQK9Wp4

Solo Breakdown: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_LvZMZjjhaE and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y-UED3ZH13Q

User Info Menu