Thread: Double Kick & Balance. Need Help.

User Info Menu

Default Double Kick & Balance. Need Help.

Hello

I have been playing double bass for about 3 years now and still struggle to get above 80bpm for anything longer than 8 Nd beats. I believe it may be to do with balance. Because when just playing with one foot, I can play at 110bpm quite comfortably for about a minute, but as soon as it comes to using both feet I literally can't even hit the bass drum. It is very frustrating and now every time I attempt i just get pissed of and don't play for the rest of the day. Does anyone have any insight into this? I have tried many settings on my peddles and distances from my peddles.

I should note that about 1 in every 10 days i am able to do it for whatever reason. And I also have scoliosis(curvature of the spine), but it is only mild so I don't think that's the problem.

Thanks in advance.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Double Kick & Balance. Need Help.

What s your seat like? This probably has more to do with your throne and possibly its height than anything else.

User Info Menu

Seems like when it comes to drumming, I generally tend to have better days than others. Don't know if it's lack of sleep or mood or what, but some days I think I've found my groove, others, it's like total lack of coordination. I try not to get frustrated on those days, but I agree, it's not easy to maintain.

Maybe adjust the throne up so you're more on top of the situation? Or maybe try shifting position a little forward? Might be a matter of finding the optimum center of gravity...
    Last edited by Cap'n Crunch; 08-30-2013 at 05:17 AM.

User Info Menu

I air drum sometimes that I think helps and listen to "One" from Metallica that should inspire you. Do not get discourage, it will come. I finally got into a band after wanting it for 31 years. Just saying you will get it not waiting 31 years to get it. Practice just the double bass part only no hands.
    Conrad

User Info Menu