Thread: I'm Still Waiting.....

User Info Menu

Default I'm Still Waiting.....

I'm still waiting for this "drumming" thing to click..... I'm waiting for that "Oh, that's it....." but I haven't really gotten that feeling yet. Do you ever get that feeling with drumming or do you just periodically "get it" all your drumming life?

Oh and I'm also still waiting for a picture of drummer.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by drum_chick View Post

User Info Menu

Seriously Susan... (as opposed to "Suddenly Susan" )...
    I usually get pockets of breakthrough throughout my career. It never happens all at once. I been playing for so long, it's hard for me to remember the beginning days, but I do remember having these moments of breakthrough where I felt I really got it. Certain beats that is, not all of drumming.

I was always a natural and I probably picked it up faster than some. I'm never quite sure how to relate it to everyone else's experience. I'm not a prodigy but I did have a lot of god-given talent from the get-go. This certainly helped propel me and I think I may have learned things faster than some at my age.

All this said, I also practiced "a lot!" I used to spend hours upon hours of concentrated practice on either rudiments or certain drumset beats, until I had them down "real" good.

I'm wondering if you're spreading yourself thin perhaps. Do you practice on many things simultaneously? Maybe if you stuck to just one rudiment at a time or one drumset beat at a time until you felt you knew it extremely well. This way, it's like you're building a house, one "firm" brick at a time. And this creates a solid foundation.

I don't know if this helps at all.

User Info Menu

DC, maybe it's a problem with your perception of what is supposed to happen. What feeling are you waiting for?