Thread: Question about dampening bass drums

User Info Menu

Default Question about dampening bass drums

I'm new to drumming, and I'm no engineer, so forgive me if this is a stupid question. This may actually get into some applied physics, a class I assume I slept through in high school years ago. I have a 22" bass drum that I stick a bedsheet and a large towel inside to get the "thud" sound. I recently ordered an 18" floor tom to go with my kit, and I got to wondering... does the lowness of the sound produced by a drum depend solely on the amount of empty area (volume) within a drum? What I'm thinking is that if I have enough "dampeners" inside my kick drum, it might make the volume for air inside it even less than that of an 18" floor tom. And if that's the case, will the floor tom produce a lower tone than the bass drum when struck? Or do things like towels, etc. inside bass drums not affect the lowness of tone, only the sustain?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Question about dampening bass drums

different head tensioning top vs bottom really makes some toms sing. I fell the same applies to the bass drum. A bass drum stuffed like a pillow case is going to sound like crap I think. Some muffling is ok, I use some but I've listened to some kits live and the bass is just thunderous with nothing in it. Head selection and what sounds the best to you.
    RDM/Damage Poets
    UFiP TAMAHA Zildjian
    REGAL TiP
    AQUARIAN

User Info Menu

articles of clothing in the bass drum only arrest the vibration of the head. They don't affect the depth of tone etc... The biggest dictate of pitch in a drum is actually it's diameter. To a much less degree are air space and depth, although these will affect sustain and over all timbre. Personally, I am more a fan of "punch" rather than thunder, so I use a pillow in my bass and it's an 18.

all the best...

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by kay-gee View Post