Thread: Progress

User Info Menu

Default Progress

Mid life crisis type thing too early on.
    Anyway, I'm looking for opinions on how much progress someone should have made after a year of drumming. Mainly self taught stuff.
    I know it varies between people but what do you think? Say it's someone who practices often and is mainly self taught (ho-hum >_>)
    Today, on Ethel The Frog...

User Info Menu

ETF, I'm thinking you should already be a pro, or you should hang up the sticks! LOL

Seriously, though, it sounds like you're going through a slump. That's why we're here, bro. There is no timeline for progress on anything in life, so just relax on the time thing. My guess is that you've progressed far enough to realize how much you still have to learn (I, on the other hand, am blessed with ignorance, for the moment). I am sure that the others will bear me out on this.

Hang in there, and know that your current frustration points more to your progress than it does to your limitations! Just remember that most of life is actually like that!
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Jeez, Music isnat a race. Relax.

User Info Menu

Cool Progress

Quote Originally Posted by Ethel_The_Frog View Post
    Anyway, I'm looking for opinions on how much progress someone should have made after a year of drumming. Mainly self taught stuff.
    I know it varies between people but what do you think? Say it's someone who practices often and is mainly self taught (ho-hum >_>)
    Hey, ETF--that's like asking a dozen parents of one-year-olds what their children are doing--and then tryin' to compare your one-year-old to that group! And it's a big freakin' mistake to do that.