Thread: Starter Drum Kit?

User Info Menu

Default Starter Drum Kit?

Can anyone help me with suggestions for starter Acoustic drum kit (for some reason a electronic kit does not appeal to me)?

Budget: $500 - $2000

Level of experience: Not much had a loaner kit for a few months about 15 years ago and had instructional tapes even took a few lessons. Other than that I've been playing guitar in cover rock bands for over 30 years.

Thanks

User Info Menu

Default Re: Starter Drum Kit?

Are you gonna need new cymbals? Hardware? With 2000$ you may be able to. afford a little more then an entry level set, and may last you a little linger. Or you could invest some more in cymbals and heads.
    Happy Drumming!

IS15

User Info Menu

with your budget you could start on a quality kit. Most of the starter stuff is poplar, which can sound okay tuned up well but you'll always be tuning it. I might try to stay away from those kits and get some birch or maple shells instead. I think every company has fine kits. It's almost a matter of just picking a brand you think you might like to play. I didn't really awnser your ? but sure someone else can.

Imperialstar made a good point about having better than entry level cymbals.
    RDM/Damage Poets
    UFiP TAMAHA Zildjian
    REGAL TiP
    AQUARIAN

User Info Menu

Thanks I have now idea what type of materials / construction is good / idea so some direction is that would be helpful also.

Are you gonna need new cymbals? Hardware? yes the whole kit

User Info Menu

Where are you located? That can make a difference in what's available in your market.
    -Brian

"Too many crappy used drum stuff to list"

Play the SONG......not the DRUMS!!!

"I think that feeling is a lot more important than technique. It's all very well doing a triple paradiddle - but who's going to know you've done it? If you play technically you sound like everybody else. It's being original that counts." ~ John Bonham

User Info Menu