Thread: Notation Question

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

User Info Menu

Default Notation Question

Hey guys,

Just joined Jammit.com (seems really cool, though the number of songs is limited), and I downloaded a few old Toto drum parts (can't learn enough from Jeff Porcaro, RIP), but I am still new at all this, and am missing what the two red circled parts of the transcription mean. I know the first one is a crash cymbal, but I don't know the meaning of the three 'flags', and the second item, I'm not sure what the 'greater than' symbol means. Can any of you help me?

Now, just a tiny bit less than an absolute drum newbie
    DW Collectors Cherry kit, Ludwig Black Beauty Snare, DW SuperSolid Oak/Cherry Snare, DW Sabian Vault Edge Snare

User Info Menu

Default Re: Notation Question

Quote Originally Posted by cabasner View Post
    Hey guys,

Just joined Jammit.com (seems really cool, though the number of songs is limited), and I downloaded a few old Toto drum parts (can't learn enough from Jeff Porcaro, RIP), but I am still new at all this, and am missing what the two red circled parts of the transcription mean. I know the first one is a crash cymbal, but I don't know the meaning of the three 'flags', and the second item, I'm not sure what the 'greater than' symbol means. Can any of you help me?

The three flags simply mean to roll on the crash cymbal if I'm correct,most likely just do fast singles on the the edge of the crash.

The > is a called accent. Technically an accent basically means play the same dynamic on that note, but with a higher stick height. You basically raise your sticking for that accented note. In that passage, the accent is on 2 & 4, so make sure yo put emphasis on 2 & 4 with a raised sticking, which will produce a slightly louder response from the cymbal/drum/percussion instrument
    Happy Drumming!

IS15

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by imperialstar15 View Post