Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Drum Lessons Crisis

User Info Menu

Default Drum Lessons Crisis

Hey all. Just a little update. I've self-taught myself on my little e-kit for about 6 months now. I've had about 3-4 lessons with a drum teacher and every time I've come out thinking 'I've just wasted my money'. It's an awful attitude to have but I'm much further ahead than what he says. The best thing he can tell me is 'don't waste your energy, play more lighter on the ride'. That's with a basic beat. Before that we did rudiments. I can play them but not lightning quick.

I don't mean to appear ignorant in these situations but how am I supposed to approach it? He knows how I can play because back in the first lesson he let me loose on the kit and praised me for keeping a steady beat. He did mention a couple of things such as raising my heel a little higher.

I'm confused. I'm from a smallish town in the UK so it's quite hard to find teachers. I did have drum lessons with a previous teacher 2-3 months ago but the travelling and cost was not worth it. Besides, the guy was about 24.

I love my drums and I really want to kick on and progress. But, times are hard and I've recently bought my own place so every £ counts. Any advice?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Drum lesson crisis

Quote Originally Posted by Vampires View Post
    Any advice?
    How about change your attitude. Humble yourself and realize that you don't know everything. In your own words, "It's an awful attitude to have".

User Info Menu

"further ahead than what he thinks"

ill be honest and tell you this....you cant run without walking first
    Last edited by itchie; 02-09-2014 at 11:29 PM.

User Info Menu