Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Does anyone seat their heads??

User Info Menu

Default Does anyone seat their heads??

Just wondering how many of you guys seat your heads and what your experiences have been with it. I've been playing for 15 years and have never had to seat a head for it to sound great. I've actually tried seating heads different ways through out the years and never really saw any significant improvement. In fact I've had less than stellar results with the whole "seating" thing. I know back in the day they had to seat heads for the calfskin to break in but things are a bit different today. Thoughts????

User Info Menu

Default Re: Does anyone seat their heads??

I do it a little but always wonder if it does anything at all, and without a comparison I really don't know.
    guess I figured it would warp the rim ever so slightly for more even head contact, but really that happens when you clamp it down anyhow. I will say a post tune palm press a few inches from the rim does seem to get me to a slightly lower more stable fundamental pitch, especially with larger drums and lower tunings.
    Last edited by onegourd; 03-04-2014 at 06:34 PM.
    don't put off till tomorrow what you can put off today

User Info Menu

I do it out of habit. I was trained that way so I just do it automatically. It doesn't take that much extra time. When I hear it crack and pop, I just feel like it's going to perform better - but I can't prove it.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by drummer View Post
    I do it out of habit. I was trained that way so I just do it automatically. It doesn't take that much extra time. When I hear it crack and pop, I just feel like it's going to perform better - but I can't prove it.
    This

User Info Menu

Always I truly believe my heads stay in tune better when it is done. Plus I love the crack sound lol

User Info Menu

I'm with Tom & NR on this. Been doing it for decades.

User Info Menu