Thread: New drummer, need advice

User Info Menu

Post New drummer, need advice

Hey guys and gals, my names Matt and I'm new to the drumming world.

I've always liked percussion and instruments of the sort but never had enough money to afford a real drum set up until now, and now that I've decided to get into it i realize its allot more complicated than i thought so here some questions i have...

-What are some good quality brands, right now at my local store they 2 5-piece sets that come with symbols and hardware for about $650, one is a gretcsh set and the other is pdp i believe, both maple and same size drums. Which brand is better though?

-also What are some good woods, I've seen allot of different woods but not sure if its better to use a lighter wood or heavy wood. And what about Clear plastic drums, i think they look neat but how is the sound quality?

-and my last question is electric vs. acoustic, I like them both they both sound cool but electric seems like you can do some really fun stuff(kind of a electronic kind of guy) but on the other hand acoustic is traditional and easier, so for a brand new drummer which would be better for learning?

Thanks for all the help

User Info Menu

Default Re: New drummer, need advice

Hey Matt, I'm sorry that this seems to have been posted here for so long without a response!

You're asking questions that really have no answer, since it's all based in opinion. Most drummers try out a bunch of different stuff, and over time start to like certain brands or types of wood better. So, I'm going to do my best to answer your questions factually, even though it's all completely subjective.

Quote Originally Posted by horganmatthew36 View Post
    -What are some good quality brands, right now at my local store they 2 5-piece sets that come with symbols and hardware for about $650, one is a gretcsh set and the other is pdp i believe, both maple and same size drums. Which brand is better though?