Thread: bass drum dynamics

User Info Menu

Default bass drum dynamics

Hey guys I'm new here so take it easy on me I'm a beginner drummer and I have been only playing for a month or so I can play a basic groove and I can play a little bit of jazz ghost notes but Manley I am a hip hop producer but I know a lot of the music comes from breakbeats from jazz, soul, but I really wanna be in control of my foot I notice I can't get that double kick to sound right I'd like to be able to play 2 -16th notes in a row but with a softer hit then a harder hit..I don't know if its me or if its my equipment but I purchased a Yamaha dtx532..and the kick drum is this hard leather surface should I save up and upgrade or is this something I should be able to do no matter the type of kick drum?

User Info Menu

Default Re: bass drum dynamics

Practice, practice, practice.

User Info Menu

You need to build up muscle memory in your limbs and that takes practice, practice, practice. Once your muscle strength has improved, you'll be able to control the doubles on the bass drum pedals better but until then, you're doubles will sound like "tennis shoes drying in the dryer".
    Last edited by late8; 04-21-2014 at 11:47 PM.

User Info Menu

Welcome to Drum Chat, DJ.

Feel free to ask anything. No bashing here.

Enjoy your stay!
    Signature here

User Info Menu

I don't mind putting in the work it just feels like I'm hitting a brick wall with my beater which is a hard plastic....thanks for the advice

User Info Menu

Welcome........I remember working on this a few years ago and this tip did wonders for me, took about 2 weeks of app. 40 minutes a day to get it somewhat close to how he does it but it really helped the feel/muscle memory of it and that is key. I still do it every now and then.

Ludwig Classic Maple 22x16,10x8,12x9,16x16
    7" Moon Gel Practice Pad
    Sabian HHX Legacy

Decide whether this is love for the craft or simply an ego thing