Thread: Drum Education in general

User Info Menu

Default Drum Education in general

Hello guys, I have been playing for a couple years now but i feel like l lack a lot of knowledge about everything drums besides playing them especially in reguards to equipment. I don't really know the parts of the drum, how to tune, what drummers are really talking about when they describe tone (warmth, dry, etc.) I was wondering, how did you guys learn this? Obviously there is the school of hard-knocks but i was hoping i could find a faster solution. Suggestions?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Drum Education in general

Quote Originally Posted by Lukeatoopis View Post
    Hello guys, I have been playing for a couple years now but i feel like l lack a lot of knowledge about everything drums besides playing them especially in reguards to equipment. I don't really know the parts of the drum, how to tune, what drummers are really talking about when they describe tone (warmth, dry, etc.) I was wondering, how did you guys learn this? Obviously there is the school of hard-knocks but i was hoping i could find a faster solution. Suggestions?

If you've changed the heads on your drums, you know the parts of a drum. Tension rods, hoops, throw-offs, snares, lugs, etc. If you take care of your drums, and can do routine maintenance like clean the lugs when you change heads and check the bearing edges, you are OK.

Tuning is a personal preference, so tune to what sounds good to you.

As for all the terms, warm, dry, trashy, whatever. I've been at this for over 1/2 a century and I don't know what all that crap means, nor do I care. If someone tells me that they like the sound of my drums, that's all I care about.

User Info Menu

YouTube, DrumChat, Yahoo, Wiki, other drum chatting sites, some common sense, picking up stuff about equipment from cruising drum retail sites. School of hard knocks. Just takes time.
    Custom Classic Pro Maple 6
    8",10",12",13" Mounted Toms
    (2)14",16" Floor Toms