Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Kit or Wait?

User Info Menu

Smile New Kit or Wait?

Hey guys,

This is my first post on this forum but I've been reading it for some months now and you seem like a really good community so I figured I would come to you for questions. First of all I'm a 17 year old who has been playing the drums for just under a year on an old entry level Silvertone kit my dad bought from Sears and never used. (I did play ALOT of RockBand though before I started playing on an acoustic set) Now my issue is this. I want to upgrade my kt and cymbals (currently using used ZBT's) and I want to know if is should buy a new intermediate level kit or just wait and upgrade the current one (with new heads and hardware and such), and if I should which kit should I get. I'm leaning toward the Gretsch Catalina Maples just because I play on a Catalina at church and I love it, and I was thinking about finding a set of used Zildjian A's or A customs.

P.S. I've basically killed the stock heads on the original kit. Started using the stock resos on top with nothing on the bottom. It's loud and punchy (), but these heads wont last too long.

User Info Menu

Default Re: New Kit or Wait?

Welcome to the forum kobz24. Your choices are very sound. That would be an excellent upgrade that will last you for many years to come. Stock heads are almost always near the bottom of the line quality wise unless it's a pro kit. You will have to change out the stock batters on the Gretsch Cats as well. The reso's will be good for now. Are you thinking of going new or used?
    Last edited by wolvie56; 10-22-2014 at 05:55 PM.
    Custom Classic Pro Maple 6
    8",10",12",13" Mounted Toms
    (2)14",16" Floor Toms
    22" x 18" Kick
    6",8",10" Roto Toms
    14" x 6.5" Mapex Black Panther Snare
    13" x 3" Pearl Piccolo Snare
    Sabian: 13" Paragon Hats
    14" HH X Hats
    22" Paragon Ride
    (2) 16" Paragon Crashes
    20" Paragon Crash
    18" Paragon Crash