Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Learning traditional grip

User Info Menu

Default Learning traditional grip

Ever since I started playing the drums, I've wanted to learn traditional grip. I've tried and tried and can't get it to feel right. I've watched videos, read books, but still can't get a hang of it. I know there's a few people on here that use mainly traditional grip. Any tips for traditional grip?
    Quote Originally Posted by rickthedrummer View Post
    There is intelligent life out there. The problem is that there isn't any here.

-Mike

User Info Menu

Default Re: Learning traditional grip

Why?

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by drummer View Post
    Why?
    My question as well. If one is working for you?

User Info Menu

I don't think about it. It's just a grip that I learned in school. I practice rudiments with various grips. Works for me.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Northern Redneck View Post
    My question as well. If one is working for you?
    Just for curiosity. After seeing Rick Allen (with both arms) and Stewart Copeland using traditional grip. It's made me want to learn it.

-Mike

User Info Menu

I couldn't get it until I really focused on the fulcrum. Maybe that's just me though.
    Tama Swingstar 3 piece 1993 (refinished wine red)
    Ludwig Breakbeats (Azure Sparkle)
    1964 Ludwig Supra
    Old no-name Luan 12x8 tom/snare (refinished wine red)
    Mapex MPX 14"x5.5" snare (refinished in gloss black)
    Pearl Vision 14"x14" ft/snare (refinished wine red)
    Aquarian heads
    14" Sabian HHX Stage Hats
    15" Meinl Extra Dry Thin Hats
    18" Meinl Vintage Trash Crash
    18" Wuhan China
    18" Thin Zildjian Crash
    18" Thin Zildjian Crash with rivets
    19" Meinl Extra Dry Thin Crash
    22" Istanbul Mehmet Legend Dark Ride
    23" Matt Bettis Dry Ride

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by lukesplat12 View Post