Thread: Opinions on GarageBand?

User Info Menu

Default Opinions on GarageBand?

It has come time, yet again, for me to replace my aged and ailing computer. I've always been a Windows guy. Starting back around the time of Windows 98 (I think), up to Windows 7. I've never had any real qualms with Windows, but I continue to hear nothing but great reviews about Apple and Mac. Well, several Windows desktops and laptops later, I've decided to jump the fence and go to the Mac world. I ordered a brand new 21.5" iMac from the apple site. It should be here on Tuesday.

I've been using my Dell laptop for recording drums for quite a while. I'm recording a 5 piece kit, using 8 mics total. I have a Tascam US-1800 USB interface, and I use Reaper for a DAW. I'm no expert, but I've been able to figure out the basics, and a couple of little tricks along the way.

Now it's my understanding that GarageBand comes pre-installed in my new computer, so I figure I might as well give it a try. So I'm wondering, from the guys who have used and/or still use GarageBand, how do you like it? Is it easy to learn and use? Does anyone have any first hand comparisons to Reaper?
    Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam
    "I shall either find a way or make one"

User Info Menu

Default Re: Opinions on GarageBand?

Unfortunately can not commit on Garageband as I have never used it but I have used Reaper on my Macs and that is a great platform. Have you considered continuing with Reaper?

User Info Menu

Welcome to the MAC world! I'll never go back to a PC ever... only PC I own is literally just to run my racecar.

Garageband is a nice factory program. It's nothing overly fancy but I've had plenty of fun with it here and there.

User Info Menu