Thread: Watch and learn

User Info Menu

Default Watch and learn

I watched a Buddy Rich gig from 1970's and grabbed a couple of tweaks to my kit layout.
    (Bear in mind I am a guitarist of 30 yrs getting back on the kit)

Two things I noticed were this......

His snare was set at an obvious tilt, away, downhill from him.
    This enables 'rimshot' .....I adjusted my own snare, set it up in a similar way and it really works for me.
    I also noticed that his floor tom was sitting high, a high as his snare, so I tried it and ... Yes, it works for me....

User Info Menu

Default Re: Watch and learn

Interesting. Whenever I watch a video of a famous drummer, I tend to play with my setup. do you play traditional grip? My floor toms are about an inch higher than my snare.
    Quote Originally Posted by rickthedrummer View Post
    There is intelligent life out there. The problem is that there isn't any here.

-Mike

User Info Menu

Your FT height should be even with your snare. The up tom IMHO should be at a 30 degree angle down towards the snare and approx. 2"-3" higher than the snare.

The FT should be as close to you as possible.

Keep everything close and avoid any wasted motion.

Rich was quick around the set because he was, well, QUICK.

He didn't have to reach into the next county to hit anything, and that helped him to be fast around the set.

User Info Menu

Your FT height should be even with your snare. The up tom IMHO should be at a 30 degree angle down towards the snare and approx. 2"-3" higher than the snare.

The FT should be as close to you as possible.

Keep everything close and avoid any wasted motion.
    I've always tried to keep things as close to me as possible. So close in fact that my right leg brushes up against my floor tom. Also, I've always had my floor tom(s) at the same height as my snare.