Thread: hi hat and hardware advice?

User Info Menu

Default hi hat and hardware advice?

My new Yamaha HS-1100 2 leg hat stand just came in today. I brought it home and set it up. Boy was I disappointed! It's not the quality I thought it would be and I didn't like the feel (I bought it without seeing one in real life). I was expecting a nice shiny sturdy metal stand and instead it looks like low grade metal with plastic bits and pieces here and there and they really held back on the felts! The whole thing didn't feel good when I got it set up.

I'm looking for a simple, but very well made, hi hat stand that I can play without it getting in the way of my large feet and double Axis pedal (that I just orderd).

That brings me to my next plee:
    I'm a big guy 6'2" over (well over) 200 and have size 15 kippers so I don't want to be reinventing-the-wheel here regarding the best set up for my 6 pc Gretsch kit. I'm new at this (haven't played in decades). If someone close to my size has already figured this out I would really appreciate you getting back to me here.

Money isn't an issue. I'm not wealthy, but I don't mind paying for high quality - functional gear that will last a long time.

User Info Menu

I like DW hardware myself.........I have their 5000 series two legged stand and love it. I've had it for over 10 years. Still keeps goin and has the same action after all these years from my beatings. (BTW I have a VERY heavy foot and raise my leg high when I'm keeping time with my foot) Blessings..........

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by middleman View Post
    I like DW hardware myself.........I have their 5000 series two legged stand and love it. I've had it for over 10 years. Still keeps goin and has the same action after all these years from my beatings. (BTW I have a VERY heavy foot and raise my leg high when I'm keeping time with my foot) Blessings..........
    I wonder if the "new" DW stands are as well built as your 10 yr old stand?