Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help W/ Auditions

User Info Menu

Default Help W/ Auditions

Hello All,Im new Here And Hopefully You Guys Could Help Me.I Currently Play Bass 3 For Marching Band,And When Our Season Is Over We're Going To Have Winter Drumline Auditions And I Want To Be On Snare Because I Have Played It Before In Concert Band They Only Put Me On Bass because Im A Freshman.So My Problem Is This: The Percussion Instructor Doesnt Think Im Cut Up For Snare Because I Cant Play In Wierd Time Signatures.So I Also Need To Learn Syncopation,ANy Tips On How To Better Learn To Play In Weird Signatures ANd TO Learn To Read Syncopation Music???
    Im Going To Start Getn Help From My Band Teacher After School,I Practice Daily,And I Use Stick Control By George Stone As My Foundation For Practicing.Anything Else I Should Do To Get Better @ Snare So I Can Hopefully Play Snare For Drumline This Year?

User Info Menu

The only thing I can think of, is try to get ahold of the audio track of whatever you may be playing, as well as copies of the sheet music, and practice your arse off at home on a practice pad. I wasn't cut out for snare in high school, and got stuck on #2 bass. As for odd time sigs, I have no clue man, I try to avoid them!

Welcome to Drum Chat by the way! It's a great community, and you'll love it! gotta check out the newbie initiation thread though. We'll all get a kick out of it, and you'll enjoy too.

http://www.drumchat.com/showthread.p...tion-1699.html
    Thats the way, uh huh, uh huh, I like it.

User Info Menu

well, at the highschool level i imagine the most complicated signature your going to use is 6/8, which is basically triplets, 2 make up one measure

But yea, work on your rudiments, i guarentee if you can in their and throw down ever rudiment nicely and put them together youd have a spot

User Info Menu