Thread: Becoming an all round better player

User Info Menu

Default Becoming an all round better player

Hey guys, new here. Thought I'd make an account to ask for some tips on how to improve my playing. I've been playing drums for maybe about 5 years and would say I'm alright at playing but was wondering what resources you would recommend to get better like with speed etc. I recently bought a double bass pedal and am not too sure how to play it up to speed so was wondering if there are any good exercises, videos or books that could maybe help me with the double bass pedal. I have a copy of stick control but don't know what the best way to run through the book would be since there are lots of exercises in it! Should I play 1 page a week and increase speed through the week or are there better ways to work through it? Would love to hear some tips from experienced players!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Becoming an all round better player

Welcome to DrumChat!

Repetition is your best friend and it's free! While books and videos and private lessons help, playing something over and over and over again is where the most progress is made with regard to speed. My advice is to just take 2 or 3 of your favorite and most practical double bass drum fills and work on just those to gradually build the speed up. Forget about pages and pages of licks. Save that for later. You want to build your confidence up and you do that through mastering just a few things first.

Welcome again to Drum Chat. A lot of great drummers and great people here.

User Info Menu

I'm always looking to play along with something unfamiliar to me. Right now I'm playing along with Mexican songs on the radio.

User Info Menu

Welcome to Drumchat! The way I got better is by listening to a ton of music. I have lots of influences. Mike Portnoy got me into double bass. I tried to play the things he did. That's how I learned new things.
    Quote Originally Posted by rickthedrummer View Post