Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Note to all aspiring drummers.

User Info Menu

Default Note to all aspiring drummers.

I know an individual that likes to make drum covers on Youtube. I know him pretty well, and I'm 99% certain he's not a member of any forum here or anywhere else. He's made several videos of covers over the last year alone, and of course talks the talk when it comes to being a drummer. (big talk). His Facebook feed is littered with pictures of him playing and he looks like he really is the real deal.

I'll admit, his drum covers are decent, after all he's spent a lot of money on gear, has good recording equipment, computer skills and as mentioned, makes decent drum covers.

(I will not divulge his youtube name).

Problem is this: I've seen him and heard him play LIVE, as he frequents some of the jam sessions I've been a house drummer for.

DUDE CAN NOT MAINTAIN A STEADY TEMPO.

If it's a fast song...the BPM tempo will increase 40% by the end of the song. They simply take off with in the first minute of the song.

If it's a medium tempo or slower - he will drag it down to a crawl. (Go forbid he play a shuffle).

He blames the fact that he can't get into a band on "The Music Scene" here in town. How all these musicians around town are wack-jobs, how the whole city is against anyone that wants to put a band together. Yadda yadda yadda.

What he doesn't understand is :

IF YOU ARE NOT PRACTICING, EFFORTING AND DEVELOPING YOUR DRUMMING SKILLS TO A METRONOME (not "with" ...but "to") AND CAN'T MAINTAIN A STEADY TEMPO BY YOURSELF OR WITH A GROUP, YOU ARE USELESS AS A DRUMMER!

USELESS!

U-S-E-L-E-S-S-!

So...before you spend all your money on a kit, nice cymbals, T-shirts and jackets with Sabian or Zildjian logos. Buy a freeking $25 metronome and make love to it.

Learn how to develop your timing.....(not just follow a click, but BE the click). Work at it. Make it your NUMBER ONE priority.

Get it ?
    Got it?

Good!

(END RANT)