Thread: My USA Customs Were Assembled Here

User Info Menu

Default My USA Customs Were Assembled Here

On the third attempt to find the place where my Gretsch USA shells were built, I finally got it done.
    I was a music student in my sophomore year and walked into the music store one day like I used to do almost every weekend...............Arnold & Morgan Music, Dallas, Texas...............February, 1977.

My sales rep told me he had something special come into the store.
    I followed him until he pointed out two new sets of Gretsch USA Customs set up on the sales floor.
    He told me he could order any sizes I wanted and they would be custom built and delivered in under 6 months............but, they were pricey.

While they were gorgeous, I was turned off by the price tag.
    That was, until I did a bit of research and asked about these drums to all the players at music school.
    After a few weeks, I decided I'd look into the possibility of owning these gems.
    I haggled a deal out of the sales rep to trade in a terrific 8-pc. set of Ludwigs (the old Quadraplus DB kit.............'73 vintage, mahogany finish............comparable to today's Legacy model) and to add too much cash in order to get these drums.

Sure enough, 6 months later, I get a call from the music store..............."Your drums are here...........bring a pick-up...........these boxes are big".
    The shipping labels gave me the following info.............BALDWIN PIANO COMPANY, GRETSCH DRUM DIVISION, BOONEVILLE, ARKANSAS".

WTH is Booneville ?
    I had never been to Arkansas in my life...............I had no idea.
    Oddly, in 1982, I would take a job in Little Rock............also the year Baldwin goes bankrupt and sells off the Gretsch division.
    I would be sent to Booneville for business purposes twice over the next two decades and asking all around (a small) town, nobody could tell me where the drums were built in the '70s.