Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: diameter x depth or the other way around ?

User Info Menu

Default diameter x depth or the other way around ?

12"x 10", for example. What's it mean ?

To me, it seem most logical to indicate diameter first, as that is what defines the drum, with depth being the secondary detail. But it appears that manufacturers prefer depth x diameter. Perusing individual toms for sale on Ebay this morning, I've come to realize that there is no standard. Unless seller specifically indicates which is which, I just have to look at the picture and gauge for myself.

I am a mathematician by education and a programmer by profession, so it bugs me. A lack of standard, such as this, could cause huge problems in other areas ... but apparently it's no big deal in the drumming world, huh ?

User Info Menu

Default Re: diameter x depth or the other way around ?

Diameter should be first if real world logic is applied---a 14 x 22 is a REALLY deep snare to me, but a 22 x 14 is a bass drum! I have asked this question before, and never gotten a good answer.

User Info Menu

I've always known it as Drum Diameter first then Drum Depth.

I always think of the snare drum.. I don't have a 5"' wide snare 14" deep.
    I have a 14" snare that is 5" deep. 14x5

User Info Menu

There's no standard convention. The assumption is a given. Larger number is the diameter and the smaller number is the depth when describing drums shells.
    18x22
    22x18

I know we're talking about a bass drum here since it's a standard size in the industry.
    Last edited by late8; 01-29-2016 at 11:37 AM.

User Info Menu

The drum makers all use Depth X Diameter. I suppose this sets the standard. Although, it does seem backward to me and while I can write it that way, I just can't bring myself to say, "My snare is a 6.5 x 14".

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by G-man View Post