Thread: A couple of questions.

User Info Menu

Default A couple of questions.

Hello all.

Last year I started playing guitar again after about 20 years of having given up on it. I have also just started playing bass guitar too last month. So apologies if these are rather silly or obvious questions that I would know the answer to if i was a drummer.

I bought a pair of drum sticks and a practice pad a week or so ago to help with my rhythm and timing (i do about 30 minutes a day)and I have been using some books to beat upon in imitation of a drum kit snare and hi hat. So that I could work on hand and foot independence and timing (i just pick up and drop my foot on the floor to represent bass drum beats) I have also been practicing rudiments, just the simple ones. single roll, double roll, paradiddle and flam.

So far so good mostly. I'm doing ok working on placing the bass or snare beats on different 16th notes (takes me a lot of concentration to get the bass on the e or a though but i'm getting better) rather than just the basic rock style beat and the rudiments seem to be getting better.

I do have a couple of questions I'd like some input on.

I always use a metronome but I find that unless i have it marking 16th notes i seem to slip time after a while. 1/8th notes don't seem to have the same problem with as much. Is it ok to have the metronome marking 16th notes or should i really just have it set to only mark the 1,2,3 and 4.

When i loose time should i stop and start again or should i try to adjust by timing.