Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trick throw off or DW Mag?

User Info Menu

Default Trick throw off or DW Mag?

So I've decided to turn my extra 14"x11" tom into an extra deep snare drum. I'm shopping around online for the components I need, and I'm on the fence between the Trick throw off and the DW Mag throw off. I like the multi-position option of both, and both get very good reviews. I have no experience with either one. All my snares have either the P85 style or a P86. Can anyone who has experience with one or both, Trick and DW Mag, throw in their opinions and help me decide?

Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam
    "I shall either find a way or make one"

User Info Menu

Default Re: Trick throw off or DW Mag?

Sorry, no experience with the Trick, but I have an Edge with the Mag and 3 pos. butt plate and it is the best I've ever used.

User Info Menu

Hey Powertrip,I have all three Mag,trick,and Dunnett. I see DW has the 3 pos. on the butt plate,but I don't see any difference. I like the Trick myself,just the way it's made,it's awesome! especially the 3 pos. version(gs 007m).

User Info Menu

I like the looks and the functionality of the DW Mag throw.
    Someday I'll try one out.

If that throw on my Black Magic gives me any trouble, I will certainly look into the Mag throw offered in black chrome.
    Gretsch USA & Zildjian
    (What Else Would I Ever Need ?)

User Info Menu

I'll never build another snare with out the DW Mag throw. It so smooth and simple. Works amazing. And the 3 select butt it nice to have for sound options too.

I suggest the DW. I also just really like front throws now. No levers just a quick easy front release

User Info Menu