Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ever use a Pillow to practice on?

User Info Menu

Question Ever use a Pillow to practice on?

I'm a beginning drummer and I don't want to irritate my wife or damage my hearing, so I stopped using my practice pad and now am practicing my rudiments on a pillow. I know I'm not getting the kind of bounce I might need but it sounds pretty good actually and I feel that I am improving my dexterity and speed some and saving my relationship at the same time Any thoughts?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Ever use a Pillow to practice on?

Yeah, get a new wife, if she loves ya she'll put up with it, just kidding I feel bad for ya can't even drum on a pract pad? whoa!

User Info Menu

You're worried about your hearing by practicing on a practice pad?

User Info Menu

I think practicing on a pillow or cushion is great for strengthening your wrists. You won't get the bounce that you'll have to learn to handle when hitting a drum, tho. So pillow, etc., are good if you already know the rudiments, but need to build muscle strength and muscle memory, to a point.
    SONOR 6 pc Special Edition 3007's red maple, old Pearl Brass 14x6 FF snare, Yamaha Tour Custom maple 8 pc., Tama 4 pc., honey amber B/B, Ludwig Supralite chrome 14x6.5 steel snare, Paiste, Saluda & Zildjian
    Loaned out Slingerland upgraded 4 pc 1963 black, wrapped maple + 14" Pearl birch FT
    The Almighty Speed King pedal, Speed Cobra, Sonor Single

http://www.screaminmelinas.com
    http://www.facebook.com/DerailedRockers/

User Info Menu

Oh no don't get me wrong she is very supportive just want to be considerate.

User Info Menu

Well yeah, after about a half hour my ears start hurting and ringing some. So I thought it was a good idea. Maybe I'm hitting too hard too hard?

User Info Menu

Your saying the practice pad hurts your ears friend? that's weird, what kind of pad and what kind of sticks? Steel?

User Info Menu

Try some ear protection, you can still feel and hear a little bit