Thread: Thinking About New Tom Batter Heads

User Info Menu

Default Thinking About New Tom Batter Heads

Can't get my tom heads tuned to that nice deep thud without putting an Evans Studio mute and a piece of MoonGel on them. Maybe that's normal - I don't know.

The drums are a new set of Gretsch Renowns that came with Evans Genera G2 heads on all the toms. They seem like nice heads (I don't know much about all this - I'm new at it).

I also have a 10" Gretsch Blackhawk Mighty Mini snare (off to one side of my large floor tom for now). I experimented by taking the coated batter head off and putting a Remo Pinstripes from a Roto Tom on it - it sounds great as an extra tom - better than my much more expensive Renowns!

My question here is ..............are there Gretsch players out there that have changed the Evans Genera G2 batter heads for a much better head - and what is that "better head"?
    Gary

User Info Menu

Kona, I haven't changed out my heads yet, since I found that I kind of like the resonance of my single plies. I do play Evans EC2's when I go take my lessons at the music store. They are on Donahoe drums, and not my Gretsch catalina Maple set, but I can say that if you are looking for a good thud, the EC2's will give it to you. The the extra ply, and the edge control ring built into those heads will cut out the overtones.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

I changed my heads out about a month after I purchased my latest kit (which was about 5 years ago) and it made a vast improvment over the stock heads. I put clear Remo emperors on all around and have stayed with that head every time I change and have never looked back.

User Info Menu

BTD, welcome to Drum Chat! What kit are you on?