Thread: Opinions on the Perfect Balance pedal?

User Info Menu

Default Opinions on the Perfect Balance pedal?

Hi, guys

I'm deciding what single bass pedal to buy and I'm considering JoJo's PB pedal. It has some pretty rough reviews in forums but they're mostly posted many years ago so maybe Sonor has improved this line by now? I'm an intermediate drummer and the pedal would get like 40 hours of practice a week so I'm wondering if anyone has experience with the pedal breaking and being weak and stuff.

I like a very light pedal and the smooth footboard is so appealing. I'm currently working hard on my double kick technique, maybe it wouldn't be a good idea to get a pedal that does half the work for me ('cause you can't be a pro if you can only play with a specific pedal, right? :D).

Other options I'm considering are the Yamaha FP9500C and the Pearl P-3000D Demon. I've played with the Yamaha one and I liked it, it's very cheap, too, comparing to the other choices. So, in a way, it would be a safe choice. Not that into the DWs.

I'm looking for the pedal to be a trustworthy companion for many years, can't be buying new ones all the time :D

Anyway, your opinion would be much appreciated

PS. I can't try out the pedals myself, I have to order it online.
    Last edited by funkymonk1; 07-01-2016 at 06:18 AM.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Opinions on the Perfect Balance pedal?

I use an Axis direct drive single, very smooth,can be adjusted for very light feel,doubles/triples easy.Look on cl or ebay for good used,I got lucky found mine excellent condition for $40.. love the direct drive

Mike
    Last edited by myk; 07-01-2016 at 01:09 PM.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by myk View Post
    I use an Axis direct drive single............I got lucky found mine excellent condition for $40.
    DANG ! Nice score.................

I bought a new double Speed Cobra and then customized it with Yamaha beaters and the Trick drive shaft.