Thread: Triggers

User Info Menu

Default Triggers

Been a long time since I've posted anything... been very busy with band stuff and work, of course. Iraconji is going awesome, and we're about to celebrate the release of our debut album in October. And more recently, I joined another band called Flummox, so now I'm pulling double duty! Totally worth it.

ANYWAYS,

A month or so ago, I traded one of my guitars for an Alesis DM5 drum module and a Roland 10KT kick drum trigger, for use in Iraconji. I utilize a lot of double bass, and a fair amount of blast beats, and the trigger just sounds awesome cutting through the guitarist's full stacks. We're pretty noisy.

I'm still pretty new to utilizing a trigger (just one trigger on one kick drum, mind you). I've got it pretty dialed in to where I want it, I think, but I wanted to pick your brains about the subject.

Anyone else here use a trigger? I have a feeling it's probably an unpopular opinion around here, but I want to ask anyway.

Is there a strategic best spot to mount the trigger? I've had to do a lot of tweaking to eliminate crosstalk. I've got it about 95% eliminated, but once in a while the trigger will still be set off by other drum hits. I rimshot the snare a LOT, and sometimes that will set it off. If I play the higher toms a little hard, that will do it too. Like I said, I've done a lot of tweaking and I've been able to eliminate a lot of it, but I'm curious if there's any other tricks of the trigger trade.

Also, given my particular trigger, it has a foam cone as the sensor. Should that cone mush up against the head a little? A lot? Or should it just barely touch the head?

EDIT: Forgot to mention - I have the trigger mounted about 5 o'clock, near the beaters.

And lastly - kick drum head tension. I would think that tightening the kick drum head a little would help in the trigger's function, but again, I want to get some opinions.