Thread: OK what bass drum head do I want?

User Info Menu

Default OK what bass drum head do I want?

I've decided that I wan tto try a new batter head. I currently have an EMAD2 (clear) and though it's pretty good, I am thinking that double ply is creating some unwanted stiffness and there's more attack than I want (when I had the EQ patch on it was worse).

Again I am still a newb but I want more sensitivity out of the head. Added brightness would be OK if I don't lose depth/lows and I could live with a bit more sustain. I have a direct drive (double) pedal FWIW and the original reso is still on. The only other head I tried was the clear 1-ply that came with the kit which rang like crazy, didn't care for it at all.

Now I WAS going to go for EMAD 1-ply beacuse the foam rings add that flexibility, but I started looking at Evans' little diagrams showing attack/sustain/tone/durability. That made me consider other models.

I don't want to mess with internal dampening, that's why EMAD is attractive. Style-wise I want to sit right in between rock and jazz (if that makes sense!) just a responsive & musical sound limited only by my non-existant technique and low-level shells!

Thanks for your input!
    Taye Tourperformer, PDP Hammered bronze snare, 15" Diril Primitive hats, 17" XPlosion, 10" duo splash, 15" Xtreme china, 22" HHX Omni, 7" cup chime, Yamaha 9415 w. Vickicks

User Info Menu

Default Re: OK what bass drum head do I want?

"Again I am still a newb but I want more sensitivity out of the head. Added brightness would be OK if I don't lose depth/lows and I could live with a bit more sustain".

"Now I WAS going to go for EMAD 1-ply beacuse the foam rings add that flexibility, but I started looking at Evans' little diagrams showing attack/sustain/tone/durability."