Thread: Beginning drummer Q from a mom :)

User Info Menu

Default Beginning drummer Q from a mom :)

So sorry if this has been asked a million times, but I'm in a situation with my daughter where I have limited knowledge so reaching out for some input from drummers. Daughter is 8 (not a prodigy or anything) and has playing drums for about a year. She just started recently with a new teacher but so far on her own can play some basic Green Day, Pat Benetar, etc. She wants to learn to play some modern songs but not as simple as say Ac/DC and more pop. Would appreciate any suggestions.
    Thanks so much!
    Last edited by Drumama; 10-24-2016 at 02:14 PM.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Beginning drummer Q from a mom :)

The most important thing I have found with all of my students is truly finding something that they love. We can recommend songs but if she doesn't love it she won't put that extra effort in.

What about something fun and exciting like Bruno Mars? Up Town funk was a popular one with some of my students.

User Info Menu

Congratulations to you Mom !

First for having a daughter with an interest in a fun and physical activity that is associated with a love for music.
    And secondly for being a great Mom that wants to help that daughter move forward with her objectives.

I play in a band that has a female lead vocalist............we are always on the lookout for material that is appropriate for her (and us)........and we play a lot of pop.

Her range is leaning more toward alto than soprano so there are certain songs from high-tenor male lead singers that also work for her.

We have worked very hard on a few pop songs lately that are going over very well in the clubs when we play:

Just A Girl (No Doubt)
    Ready To Go (Republica)
    Love Shack (B52s)
    Come Out and Play (Offspring)

We also do quite a few from Heart, Blondie, Joan Jett, Sheryl Crow and Pat Benatar.