Thread: Tightening Up

User Info Menu

well im not a beginner as ive been playn for over a year now but i dont get to practive that much and im not that good. how do you get faster withou tighteing up so much
    max

User Info Menu

what i used to do is get the drum stick dounuts and try to do like paradiddles with them, or single-stroke rolls, you know the old school percussion band section days... or duct tape magnets or whatever to em if ur in a pinch, like some of us...

basically work your forearms
    When drummers are away from their instruments, which is quite often, they often resort to air drumming. Although often distracting to others, playing air drums provides drummers with a mental practice session that can help a great deal.

User Info Menu

Forget about trying to get fast. That will come on it's own. Focus on good form & perfect timing. Before you know it, you'll not only be faster but (more importantly) good at what you do.

User Info Menu

Practice alot and the tightness will go away. It'll come with time. Warm up with rudiments before the gig.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Boo
    Forget about trying to get fast. That will come on it's own. Focus on good form & perfect timing. Before you know it, you'll not only be faster but (more importantly) good at what you do.

That's the key right there.....speed will come with time...just focus on getting tighter.....When trying to get faster i've always found it more benificial to slow down and get it right...once you've gotten the groove into your muscle memory...speed just naturally follows

User Info Menu

correction......i don't mean tighter as in tense....i meant it as in good form and perfect timing and being able to play each hit at just the precise right time and not be sloppy....

User Info Menu

...practice...