Thread: Sound Proofing

User Info Menu

Default Sound Proofing

Hi Folks,
    New to the Drumming World just wondering if anyone has any tips on Sound Proofing my Shed so I can practice.
    Obviously on a very limited budget as i am semi retired.
    I have partitioned part of my shed enough to put my kit in was thinking of lining it out with bits of carpet and underlay on the floor, roof and sides ect.
    I don't play hard as i'm a begginer just want to practice without annoying the neighbours so looking for cheap ideas to keep the noise down. Thanks in advance.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Sound Proofing

From spending ages researching about soundproofing and then realising that it wasn't really worth it for my situation, I know that for the best soundproofing you have to build a room within a room. On a budget, that will probably be difficult. Perhaps sound proof blankets hanging around the kit and some panels on the walls? I'm no expert, but it's probably the best one could do without getting technical. Someone please shout at me if ^^^ is wrong. Cheers
    SPLAT-BOOM-SPLAT-BOOM-SPLAT-BOOM-GIGGA-TISH!

User Info Menu

What kind of shed ? If it's a wooden shed with 2x4 studs then you need to put something in between the the outside wall and the inside wall , insulation . After that there are unlimited types of sound deadening material you can use on the inside walls . With money being a factor I think carpet would be a great choice .

User Info Menu