Thread: I need some advice about drum triggers

User Info Menu

Default I need some advice about drum triggers

Does anyone know the difference, or which is better, between Roland triggers and DDRUM triggers?

And.....

If I was going to get a few pads, a brain (besides my own thankyou) and some triggers, what would be the best way to approach that?

Should I leave myself to the mercy of the retailers or do you "drummer-land" people have some good advice for me?

Thoughts?
    Gary

User Info Menu

well alot of my favorite drummers (that do trigger) use ddrum triggers
    jojo mayer has used them alot
    i would say either are a safe bet though
    both pretty reputable companies

but outside of that i dont have a whole lot of experience using triggers =[
    sorry bro

User Info Menu

Default to trigger or not to trigger ???

I have been experimenting with these for about 4 years now. I started with an Alesys DM Pro module which worked great but then it failed and several different repair shops couldn't fix it. They don't make them anymore so I tried the DM5, what a hunk a' junk that was. 2 new ones out of the box were DOA and the 3 one just didn't have the benefits the DM PRO had so back it went. I'm using Roland Vdrums now and very happy with it. As far as triggers, there are lots of things to consider. I didn't want anything mounted external so I went with a DRUM DIAL model that I mounted internally on my acoustic drums and connected to a female 1/4" jack so I can plug'em right in. This is the best settup for me as I look to set up and tear down my kit for gigs as easily as possible. I also use a Hart Dynamics multi-pad for effects and other drums sounds. All of the different sounds from the module just can't be done ay other way!

User Info Menu

Default Drum Dial Triggers...

Quote Originally Posted by ThunderMaker View Post