Thread: Why 2 floor toms

User Info Menu

Default Why 2 floor toms

Hi guys
    I always wondered why so many drummers use 2 floor toms. What is the main reason for this?
    Fyi, i just started playing the drums after 25 years( yes, 25 years). Lol

User Info Menu

Default Re: Why 2 floor toms

I think it all a preference. I have seen drummers (Chris Layton is one of them) who will use two floor toms, but have one on each side of the kit, and they are able to do some cool things with them that way.
    Six Piece Mapex Saturn V, Five Piece DW Performance Series, NOS Slingerland Snares, Centent Ardor and Emperor Cymbals

User Info Menu

I like one up, but don't like a 4 piece. Not enough drums. The next best thing, 1 up 2 down
    Quote Originally Posted by rickthedrummer View Post
    There is intelligent life out there. The problem is that there isn't any here.

-Mike

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Lexer View Post
    Hi guys
    I always wondered why so many drummers use 2 floor toms. What is the main reason for this?
    The main reason for me.....................
    I want my ride cymbal in the conventional position; 1-up, 2-down is the perfect configuration to accommodate this.
    I have played many different set-ups over the last 50 years and I have settled on this 1-up, 2-down set-up and it feels very good.
    My second choice would be 1-up, 1-down because I would still have my ride cymbal where I want it..................and that is important.
    Gretsch USA & Zildjian
    (What Else Would I Ever Need ?)

User Info Menu

It's often just a trend or a fad. Sort of like the 4 pc drum setups now. You can point back to them through the years, like when someone started playing the extra snare drum on the left side, then everyone started doing it. There are also the remote hats, the sandwiched pangs, the double pedals, the kickports, etc.

User Info Menu

*raises hand*

Have the double pedals and kickport. lol