Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's your preferred type of Snare

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

User Info Menu

Default What's your preferred type of Snare

Just wondering what type of Snare you guyz prefer....ie, Wood, Steel, Brass, Aluminium ect....and why do you have this particular preference.....do certain materials give a paticular sound or feel? Please excuse the question but i'm new to Drumming and only have a Electronic kit at present but want to get an Acoustic Kit possibly in the new year and would like some advice ect. Hope to hear your views, thanks Stoney.

User Info Menu

Default Re: What's your preferred type of Snare

My favorite snare is my 13x7 G-Maple Tama.
    Such a warm tight crack like the sound of a whip.
    I love a sharp cranked down snare myself.

But I own a snare in almost all types... just for the variety! haha

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by SpazApproved View Post
    My favorite snare is my 13x7 G-Maple Tama.
    Such a warm tight crack like the sound of a whip.
    I love a sharp cranked down snare myself.

But I own a snare in almost all types... just for the variety! haha
    Thanks, once i get an Acoustic Kit i was thinking of going for a Wood snare as my electronic kit as some professional drum samples of....Maple, Oak, Birch and Beech kits the snares all sound great....like yourself though i think all types would be a good solution for all occasions

User Info Menu

I have a MCX Maple 6 ply snare and a Vintage Slingerland "Festival'' Steel snare. I use my steel snare the most. Lots of snap,crackle, pop to it. It also has it's own internal damper which is controlled on the outside with a knob. Great all around snare for me.

User Info Menu

I have a Mapex Black Panther Blade that I love. I still have my "stock" Mapex also.
    Six Piece Mapex Saturn V, Five Piece DW Performance Series, NOS Slingerland Snares, Centent Ardor and Emperor Cymbals

User Info Menu