Thread: Top ten rudiments

scottyp is offline Senior Member (Respected Chatter)

User Info Menu

Default Top ten rudiments

Here are the top ten rudiments I use in my day to day playing.

You can change the accents, subdivisions, add flams, etc, and these could keep a person busy for years and years without working on the other 30.

I'm not saying don't learn the others, but for new students I teach these first and it changes their playing a ton.

Do you guys play any other rudiments in your day to day playing I have missed?

I usually hit the pad from 30-45 minuets a day before any drumset happens.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Top ten rudiments

I started playing in 1974 and I have never practiced rudiments ever. I just can't bring myself to do it. I get so bored my head hurts. I've been that way with every type of structured practice routine, I sit down and stick to it for about ten minutes then I'm just off playing whatever I feel like. That has always worked for me. Looking back though I wish i was wired that way so I could sit down and practice like that , I'd probably be a much better drummer. After 40+ years though it's not gong to happen. lol
    Last edited by NPYYZ; 01-17-2018 at 07:38 AM.

User Info Menu

Same here was never into rudiments. I just walked up to my first drum kit and started to bang on it and have for over 40 years.

User Info Menu

The length of my attention span on practicing rudiments is about 30 minutes tops. Now if I had stuck to that discipline 39 years ago when I took my first lesson, I'd be a much better drummer today but what I lack in technical skills, I make up for by being a good listener, keeping in the pocket and providing a solid foundation for others to build upon.

User Info Menu

Cool video I would have to agree with everyone I am horrible when it come to rudiments practicing. I just play along with songs on Youtube. Thanks for sharing the video.
    Conrad

User Info Menu