Thread: Evans tuning

User Info Menu

Default Evans tuning

I have a question!! I've been playing for about 9 months now....and I'm finally bearable to listen to! My neighbor is getting tired of hearing "Gimme Shelter and Honky Tonk Woman"!

I have been experimenting with different heads on my 10-12 and 16" toms. I have a Gretsch Renown set with a 22 bass, 10,12" toms, a 16" floor tom. The starter set that I had for about 2 months before I bought the Gretsch set was a Pearl Import...that now has become a beautiful floor lamp as well as table lamp. The Bass drum is now a Table. I did take the Pearl 16" floor tom and tuned it down to add an additional tom to the Gretsch set.

Here is my question. Since I am a tinkerer....I have been trying different heads...and each time...I get more and more impressed with the sounds. This set I installed last night was an Evans EC2 S SST 10 and 12" clear head. Sounded PHENOMENAL!! However...it was late last night when I finished tuning them on the counter of my kitchen...and I don't play after 8pm as to not disturb the neighbors. This morning...I played a couple songs...went out on an appointment...came back and just checked the tuning...and both toms had dropped pitch. I retuned them...and played again for about 20 minutes. Checked the tuning again...and it had dropped. WHAT????

I learned how to tune by ear...but I also bought a Drum Dial...that checks tension as well as a Tune Bot. I tuned these by using the Tune Bot. Why...WHY..are these toms losing their pitch so fast? Is this normal with Evans heads during break-in? I don't recall the Remo heads that I have experimented with losing their tune so quickly!

Spoke with a rep from Sam Ash...just as I was typing... and he felt that the lugs were at fault & backing out and suggested I use Teflon Tape on the threads to help prevent them from backing out. He states that he personally uses Blue Loctite because he is a hard hitter to prevent such a situation.