Thread: Practice Kit Options

User Info Menu

Default Practice Kit Options

Hello, This is my first post on Drum Chat! I have been Drumming for about 10 months. I started out with a Roland TD-11KV and watched (still do) all kinds of drum instruction videos. I try to practice every day using a practice pad ,but mostly I just like to play songs. About 6 months ago I purchased a Gretsch Renown 57 and some Sabian Cymbals. I really enjoy playing the acoustic set. I would play on the Roland typically later in the evening(noise ) and the more I played on the Gretsch the less I played on the Roland. The reasons will be obvious to everyone I'm sure. The main issues I had with the Roland are , didn't like the High Hat(just pedal, no VH-11) and the Cymbal sounds were not very good IMO. On the plus side ,the drum sound was good but.... I definitely sounded better while playing ,but that really didn't carry over to the acoustic kit.So, yesterday I sold it.
    I would like some input on putting together a practice kit. What I'm leaning towards is a small kit, Ludwig Breakbeats(Played it) or Pearl Midtown(Only seen in Videos) with Sabian Quiet Tone Cymbals(Tried the Zildjian LV80's) and RTom heads. I want to be able to have a reduced volume set up so I can play in the evenings etc. I have no noise issues but I would like to be respectful to my neighbours in the evening hours. I know could set up the Renowns with the reduced volume but I just don't want to keep switching back and fourth . Does this sound like a reasonable idea? I tossed around the idea of perhaps a better Roland kit (Td-25 kv) but other than a more realistic HH I think it will be more the same as what I had.
    I would like hear some opinions. Thanks in advance.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Practice Kit Options