Thread: Snare microphone shoot-out

User Info Menu

Default Snare microphone shoot-out

I have been using the SM-57 on snare since 1988. About 4 years ago I switched to the Shure Beta 98 AMP for the compact "out of the way" factor, and I really liked the sound. Now I've been hearing some great things about the Audix i5. It takes up about the same real estate as the 57. Things are tight around my snare with the hats and a 10" tom 8" mini-timbale so mounting clearances are tough. What are your thoughts on these mics and others if you have a better choice? Thanks.
    Cut it large and kick it into place!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Snare microphone shoot-out

I've been using the SM-57 forever and I really have no desire to switch. Mine have been bullet proof and I'm satisfied with the sound. But, I have plenty of room around my snare so placement is not a problem for me. The other mics you mentioned are pro grade and are just as good IMO. Comes down to a matter of preference.

User Info Menu

What are your thoughts on mic'ing the bottom of the snare only?

We've done that a lot live as I have a very tight setup too

User Info Menu

In my experiments with micing the snare from the bottom, I keep it pretty close to the hoop, as putting it closer to the snare makes it too tinny, loses body...
    Just my opinion.

User Info Menu

I started with an SM57, moved to the i5 and now I use a Miktek PM10. Miktek is a boutique mic company located in Nashville. Their mics get great reviews and frequently win shootouts against industry standard mics costing much more. Check them out.

Acoustic Kits:
    Ludwig Maple 3ply White Cortex 4 pc
    Rukus Mod Orange Club 4 pc
    DW Design 6 pc
    Tama Silverstar Limited Edition Mirage 5 pc
    Tama Superstar 5 pc
    Tama Rockstar 4 pc
    Gretsch Catalina Ash 4 pc

Slingerland 7 pc

Electronic Kits:
    Yamaha DTX532k
    Roland TD-27, Roland PD-85 (x4), PD-125, KD9, CY-8 (x2) VH-10, Lemon 15 and 18 cymbals
    Roland SPD-SX Sample Pad