Thread: Have a few questions

User Info Menu

Default Have a few questions

Ok, where to start? I'm Kyle and I am new to this forum, I am pretty new drumming (just bought my first set 2 months ago) but not music (been playing bass and guitar for 8 years....self-taught). I own a Mapex 7 piece with paiste 14'' hi hat, 18'' crash ride, zildjian (sp?) x series crash 17'' and a x series splash 10'' (2 floor toms (not sure of the size)). Well to start off I have a decent amount of questions. I have a snare buzzing and I am going to play with the tuning tomorrow before I go to work (overnight shift this week...damn) but it buzzes all the time....with the bass, bass drum, toms and guitar lows. Any suggestions? The other question is that my bass drums I cant seem to get them to sound the exact same and I have tried and tried but never can get it on the sweet spot....any suggestions? Finally My higher floor tom I can't get it to sound right with my 3 other toms (I can't get a nice bassy punch/thump to it like my other floor tom).....once again, any suggestions? Like the guitar and bass I am trying to teach myself how to play (and doing a good jobs at it....not to brag but I'm not novice other than the fact that I don't know much about the tuning and frequencies.....etc). Oh yeah and whats the deal with putting a sound hole in the bass drum and putting a piece of foam in it? If anyone can reply that'd be awsome

-Kyle

User Info Menu

A seven piece kit, for a beginner, two bass drums, 2 up 2 down set up. I want your job.

For the snare: Make the wires tighter, you know how you turn the snares on and off there should be a knob there, turn it and make the wires tighter.

For the bass drums: Tune them both as tight as possible no one is really going to notice that there is a difference unless it's a huge difference and if there is they aren't tight enough.