Thread: Any consensus on repairing cymbal dents?

User Info Menu

Default Any consensus on repairing cymbal dents?

Hay all, I'll preface by stating that 1) I have done some reading about the subject.
    2) I studied metallurgy so I understand a few things about metals, but no personal experience with B20 bronze...

I got a 22" HHX Omni forma store with a heavy discount because it got bent/dented on the edge, about 1" wide by 1" deep. I thought I was getting it with warranty but Sabian's website specifically says no dents...

Anyway I would like to try bending or hammering this back to round. Yes, I understand the risks... I also work in a shop which works with metal (steel & aluminum) so some of the guys know their stuff but sadly none have experience with bronze or cymbals...

So GIVEN that this cymbal was hand hammered to begin with, I am believing that a little tappy-tap (tap-tap-taparoo) to correct this won't be too risky. Though that edge is sure thin...

Please chime in if you know about this or can direct me to actual resources! Thanks
    Taye Tourperformer, PDP Hammered bronze snare, 15" Diril Primitive hats, 17" XPlosion, 10" duo splash, 15" Xtreme china, 22" HHX Omni, 7" cup chime, Yamaha 9415 w. Vickicks

User Info Menu

Default Re: Any consensus on repairing cymbal dents?

My first thought was to telephone the guys at Fork's Drum Closet, Nashville.................if they don't know how to fix it, they know someone that can tell you.
    Gretsch USA & Zildjian
    (What Else Would I Ever Need ?)

User Info Menu

Can you post a pic of it?
    I think a lot depends on the type of damage. If it’s a surface dent, you could probably just throw a rag over it and hammer most of it out. The metal is probably stretched, so it may not come out all the way. If it’s on the edge (like it was dropped on edge), then it could crack if you try to bend or hammer it.
    You could always cut it down or make an FX cymbal out of it.
    -Brian