Thread: Video on my process/theory on Setting Up You Kit

User Info Menu

Default Video on my process/theory on Setting Up You Kit

I know we all have our own ways of setting up our kits.
    But I put this video together tonight because I've had so many new students and so many questions about set up.
    I might make another one now that this one is done with more ideas and thoughts in my head but for now here it is.

The Spaz theory of setting up your kit.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Video on my process/theory on Setting Up You Kit

Great vid! I like how you have your bass drum angled the same as the natural foot angle. If you see my newest pic on the “show us your drums” thread you’ll see I did the same thing.
    Quote Originally Posted by rickthedrummer View Post
    There is intelligent life out there. The problem is that there isn't any here.

-Mike

User Info Menu

I have been keeping my BD at a angle for over 50 years. I like my FT close and my leg would keep hitting it when I kept the BD straight across, so I started turning my BD in about 2" and it's been working great for over 50 years.

As for the FT, I set it even with the lower edge of my snare. My snare is tilted about 1" from left to right. I then lower the side of my FT across from my snare about 1/4 to 3/8th's of a ". Been doing that for decades.
    YOU MESS WITH THE DEVIL YOU KNOW.

YOU DON'T MESS WITH THE DEVIL YOU DON'T KNOW.

VAE VICTIS

ONCE YOU HIT A CERTAIN AGE, YOU BECOME PERMANENTLY UNIMPRESSED BY A LOT OF CRAP.

I HIT THAT AGE 20 YEARS AGO.

IF DOGS CAN'T GO TO HEAVEN, I WANT TO GO WHERE THEY GO

WILL ROGERS

User Info Menu

Well done. Your students should appreciate that information.

User Info Menu

I like when he speeds it up. It's like watching the Keystone Drummer!!!!
    YOU MESS WITH THE DEVIL YOU KNOW.

YOU DON'T MESS WITH THE DEVIL YOU DON'T KNOW.

VAE VICTIS

ONCE YOU HIT A CERTAIN AGE, YOU BECOME PERMANENTLY UNIMPRESSED BY A LOT OF CRAP.

I HIT THAT AGE 20 YEARS AGO.