Thread: Which Kit to Keep?

User Info Menu

Default Which Kit to Keep?

First timer. From Australia.
    I am lucky enough to be in possession of two kits. I have not had either of them very long. Both in very nice nick. A Gretsch Catalina Birch 7 piece and just lately, a Pearl 6 piece Vision VBX (the older model) in Orange Sparkle, which is truly a good looker. I just couldn't pass up the price on the Vision. I am only a bit better than a beginner, and even though I have the opportunity to sit at both kits, I simply do not know which one to keep. To me, they both sound similar. But I am a real novice. Going into the future I would like to think I made the right choice as I improve...........Could you guys just throw your two-bobs worth with in please? Would appreciate it greatly.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Which Kit to Keep?

Welcome to the forum! Both kits you mentioned are good kits for the stage you are at (beginner), and really the question you need to ask yourself is which one makes you want to sit down and play? Neither kit will make you better as a drummer by itself, but if you are drawn to one more because you really like something about it (the looks, the name, whatever), you may end up practicing on it more as a result. The practice is what will make you grow as a drummer, so go with the kit that inspires you more to jump on and practice!
    Gretsch USA Custom 22x18, 12x9, 13x10, 14x14, 16x16, 14x5.5 Rosewood Zildjian 14" New Beats, Zildjian 20" A Medium Ride, Sabian 18" Paragon Crash, Zildjian 16" Medium Thin Crash Tama Iron Cobra Single Pedal

Pearl Masters Studio Birch (MBX) 22x16, 10x10, 12x10, 13x11, 16x16, 14x6.5 in White Mist. Zildjian A Custom Hats, Sabian 22 AA with Rivets, Stagg 20" Ghengis Ride, Dream Contact Crashes 16" & 17" Pearl P2002B Double Bass Pedal

User Info Menu